Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Friday, December 12, 2008 11:41:55 AM(UTC)
michielovereem

Groups: Registered
Posts: 4


We are deploying our ASP.NET 2 website to an Windows 2003 32bit server.
De website uses leadtools v16, the rasterimage functionality (loading, saving, and resizing).

Upon loading the home page of the website (which does not uses leadtools functionality), the following exception is thrown:

System.Configuration.ConfigurationErrorsException: The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E) (*****\web.config line 113)

Stacktrace: at System.Web.Configuration.ConfigUtil.GetType(String typeName, String propertyName, ConfigurationElement configElement, XmlNode node, Boolean checkAptcaBit, Boolean ignoreCase)

at System.Web.Configuration.HttpHandlerAction.Create()

at System.Web.Configuration.HandlerFactoryCache..ctor(HttpHandlerAction mapping)

at System.Web.HttpApplication.GetFactory(HttpHandlerAction mapping)

at System.Web.HttpApplication.MapHttpHandler(HttpContext context, String requestType, VirtualPath path, String pathTranslated, Boolean useAppConfig)

at System.Web.HttpApplication.MapHandlerExecutionStep.System.Web.HttpApplication.IExecutionStep.Execute()

at System.Web.HttpApplication.ExecuteStep(IExecutionStep step, Boolean& completedSynchronously)

InnerException System.Configuration.ConfigurationErrorsException: The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)

Stacktrace: at System.Web.Configuration.CompilationSection.LoadAssemblyHelper(String assemblyName, Boolean starDirective)

at System.Web.Configuration.CompilationSection.LoadAllAssembliesFromAppDomainBinDirectory()

at System.Web.Configuration.CompilationSection.LoadAssembly(AssemblyInfo ai)

at System.Web.Configuration.AssemblyInfo.get_AssemblyInternal()

at System.Web.Compilation.CompilationUtil.GetTypeFromAssemblies(AssemblyCollection assembliesCollection, String typeName, Boolean ignoreCase)

at System.Web.Compilation.BuildManager.GetType(String typeName, Boolean throwOnError, Boolean ignoreCase)

at System.Web.Configuration.ConfigUtil.GetType(String typeName, String propertyName, ConfigurationElement configElement, XmlNode node, Boolean checkAptcaBit, Boolean ignoreCase)

InnerException System.IO.FileNotFoundException: The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)

Stacktrace: at System.Reflection.Assembly.nLoad(AssemblyName fileName, String codeBase, Evidence assemblySecurity, Assembly locationHint, StackCrawlMark& stackMark, Boolean throwOnFileNotFound, Boolean forIntrospection)

at System.Reflection.Assembly.InternalLoad(AssemblyName assemblyRef, Evidence assemblySecurity, StackCrawlMark& stackMark, Boolean forIntrospection)

at System.Reflection.Assembly.InternalLoad(String assemblyString, Evidence assemblySecurity, StackCrawlMark& stackMark, Boolean forIntrospection)

at System.Reflection.Assembly.Load(String assemblyString)

at System.Web.Configuration.CompilationSection.LoadAssemblyHelper(String assemblyName, Boolean starDirective)


For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


We are putting the following dll's in the bin folder:

Leadtools.dll

Leadtools.Codecs.dll

Leadtools.Codecs.*.dll


If I remove all Leadtools.Codecs.*.dll except the png,bmp,gif,tif and j2k dll, the exception is not thrown. However, the website doesn't function correct (imageformats aren't recognized).


If I put the complete redist folder in the bin (including unmanaged dll's), the same exception is thrown.


What are we missing?

 

Try the latest version of LEADTOOLS for free for 60 days by downloading the evaluation: https://www.leadtools.com/downloads

Wanna join the discussion? Login to your LEADTOOLS Support accountor Register a new forum account.

#2 Posted : Sunday, December 14, 2008 5:55:03 AM(UTC)

Adnan Ismail  
Guest

Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)

The problem could be caused by the presence of different versions of LEADTOOLS files on your system. Please check that your system PATH and GAC do not contain any other versions of Leadtools.*.DLL files.
 
#3 Posted : Monday, December 15, 2008 3:58:31 AM(UTC)
michielovereem

Groups: Registered
Posts: 4


I've searched the complete server (it is a clean install of windows server 2003, no former leadtools versions are ever used on it) and I only found leadtools v16 dll's...
 
#4 Posted : Monday, December 15, 2008 4:57:20 AM(UTC)
michielovereem

Groups: Registered
Posts: 4


I've nailed the problem to the following codecs files:

Leadtools.Codecs.Crw.dll
Leadtools.Codecs.Dcs.dll
Leadtools.Codecs.Ecw.dll
Leadtools.Codecs.Fpx.dll
Leadtools.Codecs.Kdc.dll
Leadtools.Codecs.Pcd.dll
Leadtools.Codecs.Sid.dll

However, the point in code where the exception is thrown doesn't do anything with the codecs. So it is strange that the exception is thrown at all.

But the problem goes away when the dll's are removed from the bin folder.

Is this a known problem in leadtools?
 
#5 Posted : Monday, December 15, 2008 7:15:42 AM(UTC)

Adnan Ismail  
Guest

Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)

These codec DLLs mostly require other third party DLLs to be included in the Bin folder, for example the "Leadtools.Codecs.Ecw.dll" requires the following additional DLLs:
NCScnet.dll
NCSEcw.dll
NCSEcwC.dll
NCSUtil.dll

For full details, see the help topic "Files to be Included with Your Application"
 
#6 Posted : Monday, December 15, 2008 9:54:54 PM(UTC)
michielovereem

Groups: Registered
Posts: 4


I understand, but how come that although I'm not using the codecs they are still loaded?
 
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2008 2:32:53 AM(UTC)

Adnan Ismail  
Guest

Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)

Determining the format of an image file is done dynamically at run time. For example, you could take a Windows bitmap file and change its extension from .BMP to .JPG, and LEADTOOLS will correctly recognize it's a BMP and not JPEG.
This is done by loading different codec DLLs to examine the file. If your application is not going to support certain formats such as ECW, do NOT deploy the codecs for these formats. This way you will save both disk space and loading time for other formats you want to support.

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.180 seconds.