Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2008 7:57:06 PM(UTC)
program4life

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6


Dear supporters,

We are using a RICOH IS450 scanner and use a program developed on LEADv10 to control it. Now we want to upgrade it to LEADv14 but are facing a problem of setting Twain Capabilities in which we could not set the paper size and orientation. We have followed your suggestion and using Twacker utility to find out what capabilities are currently supported by our scanner. Here is the examination result:

ItemType=TWTY_UINT16
ItemList=CAP_XFERCOUNT
ItemList=CAP_SUPPORTEDCAPS
ItemList=CAP_UICONTROLLABLE
ItemList=ICAP_COMPRESSION
ItemList=ICAP_PLANARCHUNKY
ItemList=ICAP_PHYSICALHEIGHT
ItemList=ICAP_PHYSICALWIDTH
ItemList=ICAP_PIXELFLAVOR
ItemList=ICAP_BITDEPTH
ItemList=ICAP_BITORDER
ItemList=ICAP_PIXELTYPE
ItemList=ICAP_UNITS
ItemList=ICAP_XFERMECH
ItemList=ICAP_XRESOLUTION
ItemList=ICAP_YRESOLUTION
ItemList=ICAP_IMAGEFILEFORMAT
ItemList=CAP_INDICATORS
ItemList=CAP_ENABLEDSUIONLY
ItemList=CAP_DEVICEONLINE
ItemList=ICAP_XNATIVERESOLUTION
ItemList=ICAP_YNATIVERESOLUTION
ItemList=ICAP_BRIGHTNESS
ItemList=ICAP_CONTRAST
ItemList=ICAP_XSCALING
ItemList=ICAP_YSCALING
ItemList=ICAP_THRESHOLD
ItemList=CAP_FEEDERENABLED
ItemList=CAP_FEEDERLOADED
ItemList=CAP_AUTOFEED

As you can see, the capability L_ICAP_SUPPORTEDSIZES used for setting paper size setting and ICAP_ORIENTATION  used for setting paper orientation are not supported. In the current program (LEADv10), by simply setting values for the properties TwainFrameWidth and TwainFrameHeight of LEAD then object we can set the paper size and orientation:

'Paper size
    'A3 297mm * 420mm
    'A4 210mm * 297mm
    'B4 257mm * 364mm
    'B5 182mm * 257mm

    Const CnsCmToTwip = 567 

    If optTate.Value = True Then
       If optA4.Value = True Then
          leadScan.TwainFrameWidth = CnsCmToTwip * 21
          leadScan.TwainFrameHeight = CnsCmToTwip * 29.7
       ElseIf optA3.Value = True Then
          leadScan.TwainFrameWidth = CnsCmToTwip * 29.7
          leadScan.TwainFrameHeight = CnsCmToTwip * 42
       ElseIf optB4.Value = True Then
          leadScan.TwainFrameWidth = CnsCmToTwip * 25.7
          leadScan.TwainFrameHeight = CnsCmToTwip * 36.4
       ElseIf optB5.Value = True Then
          leadScan.TwainFrameWidth = CnsCmToTwip * 18.2
          leadScan.TwainFrameHeight = CnsCmToTwip * 25.7
       End If
    Else
       If optA4.Value = True Then
          leadScan.TwainFrameWidth = CnsCmToTwip * 29.7
          leadScan.TwainFrameHeight = CnsCmToTwip * 21
       ElseIf optB5.Value = True Then
          leadScan.TwainFrameWidth = CnsCmToTwip * 25.7
          leadScan.TwainFrameHeight = CnsCmToTwip * 18.2
       End If
    End If

... But now everthing seem to be more hard to achieve. Why when we upgrade to new version of LEAD we fail to set paper size and orientation for the working machine that is using the old version? Please tell me if there are others capabilities that we can use for unsupported capabilities in new version.

We did run the TWAIN demo program but it failed too

Here is the RICOH IS450 website: http://www.ricoh.co.jp/PRODUCT/scanner/is450/index.html

Thank you very much.

 

Try the latest version of LEADTOOLS for free for 60 days by downloading the evaluation: https://www.leadtools.com/downloads

Wanna join the discussion? Login to your LEADTOOLS Support accountor Register a new forum account.

#2 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2008 10:31:53 AM(UTC)

GregR  
GregR

Groups: Registered, Tech Support, Administrators
Posts: 764


Does your scanner have both TWAIN and WIA drivers (both will show up in the SelectSource dialog)?  Looking at that list of supported capabilities, it looks like a WIA driver.  If you  have both, try using the Twain source rather than WIA.

I have a Fujitsu scanner that has both a TWAIN driver and a WIA driver and the supported capabilties for my Twain driver's WIA are identical to those you've listed.
 
#3 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2008 3:58:01 PM(UTC)
program4life

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6


Dear suppoter,

Thank you very much for you reply.
Yes, as you said, there are 2 drivers shown up in the SelectSource dialog, and we always choose the second one! Maybe it is WIA driver. We will try to use the first one and hope this will resolve our problem.

Thank you.
 
#4 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2008 6:53:54 PM(UTC)
program4life

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6


Dear supporter,

We have tried to use the TWAIN rather than WIA but it still not working. Program could not find the selected source. We do not know how to solve this problem. Please help.

Thank you.

 
#5 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2008 3:53:24 AM(UTC)

GregR  
GregR

Groups: Registered, Tech Support, Administrators
Posts: 764


Try using a tool from Twain.org called Twacker.  To download Twacker, you can get it from http://www.twain.org/downloads.shtm within the Twain Developer Toolkit download.  In general, if a scanner works with Twacker, it should work with LEADTOOLS.  If the scanner has the same problem in Twacker, then the problem lies in the Twain driver and you should contact the manufacturer.

Also, what is the file version of ltkrn14n.dll that you are using?
 
#6 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2008 6:16:22 PM(UTC)
program4life

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6


Dear supporter,

We also have tried to use TWACKER and test result is described in attached file.
Please see it and kindly give us some suggestions.

Thank you.
 
#7 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2008 2:40:56 AM(UTC)

GregR  
GregR

Groups: Registered, Tech Support, Administrators
Posts: 764


Your file was not attached.  Here's some guidelines regarding attachments:

1.) Zip the file(s) up.
2.) Make sure it is less than 5 MB.  If it is larger, please send an email to support@leadtools.com and we'll send you FTP instructions.
3.) Remove ANY AND ALL unlock codes and LEADTOOLS DLLs.
4.) Do not click the preview button, the attachment will not show up when you post it.

If you do not wish to post your file(s) on the forum since they are publically viewable, please send an email to support@leadtools.com and make sure that you include a link to this forum post.
 
#8 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2008 3:47:13 PM(UTC)
program4life

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6


Dear supporter,

I re-attached the file.


Thank you.
File Attachment(s):
LEAD14_examination.zip (1,704kb) downloaded 23 time(s).
 
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2008 3:13:58 AM(UTC)

GregR  
GregR

Groups: Registered, Tech Support, Administrators
Posts: 764


Thanks for the detailed description of the problem.  Unfortunately this appears to be a driver issue since the TWAIN driver doesn't work correctly in Twacker.  Please contact your scanner manufacturer regarding this problem.
 
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2008 3:47:18 PM(UTC)
program4life

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6


Dear supporter,

>Unfortunately this appears to be a
driver issue since the TWAIN driver doesn't work  >correctly in Twacker.  Please contact your scanner manufacturer regarding this problem.
Does this mean that current TWAIN driver of our scanner (built-in driver provided by manufacturer) is not working correctly in new version of LEAD?

Thank you.
 
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 30, 2008 2:37:00 AM(UTC)

GregR  
GregR

Groups: Registered, Tech Support, Administrators
Posts: 764


If your scanner doesn't work with TWAIN, it's not going to work with ANY version of LEADTOOLS because we use TWAIN to interface with scanners.
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.165 seconds.