Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 28, 2007 11:43:48 AM(UTC)

cslater  
cslater

Groups: Registered
Posts: 9


Converting TIF image to GIF and resizing in the process.  Tried using the .net libraries which do an excellent job but are too slow.  I switched to Leadtools which is four times faster but the resolution is poor.  The method takes a filename and a percentage to scale the image by.

Any way to maintain the quality in resizing but still maintain the speed?

Thanks

Leadtools code (C# - fast but low quality)
    RasterCodecs codecs = new RasterCodecs();
    IRasterImage raster = codecs.Load(new FileStream(path, FileMode.Open, FileAccess.Read, FileShare.Read));
    raster.Page = 1;
    SizeCommand sizer = new SizeCommand(raster.Width * percent, raster.Height * percent, RasterSizeFlags.Normal);
    sizer.Run(raster);
    codecs.Save(raster, output, RasterImageFormat.Gif, raster.BitsPerPixel);

.Net code (C# - good quality but slow)
    Image image = Image.FromFile(path);
    image.SelectActiveFrame(FrameDimension.Page, 0);
    Bitmap temp = new Bitmap(image, image.Width, image.Height);
    image = temp.GetThumbnailImage(image.Width * percent, image.Height * percent, null, IntPtr.Zero);
    image.Save(output, ImageFormat.Gif);


 

Try the latest version of LEADTOOLS for free for 60 days by downloading the evaluation: https://www.leadtools.com/downloads

Wanna join the discussion? Login to your LEADTOOLS Support accountor Register a new forum account.

#2 Posted : Sunday, July 1, 2007 3:12:39 AM(UTC)

Qasem Lubani  
Guest

Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)


Instead of separate calls to the Load and the Resize methods try calling the Load method as such:


 


Load(


   ByVal fileName As String, _


   ByVal width As Integer, _


   ByVal height As Integer, _


   ByVal bitsPerPixel As Integer, _


   ByVal flags As RasterSizeFlags, _


   ByVal order As CodecsLoadByteOrder _;


 


And instead of loading with RasterSizeFlags.Normal try
loading with the RasterSizeFlags.Resample which should yield a higher quality image.
 
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 5, 2007 4:53:44 AM(UTC)

cslater  
cslater

Groups: Registered
Posts: 9


That worked on improving the graphics quality (much better).  The downside is that it is much slower than before.  I was really hoping that LeadTools API had something that would be much better than the .Net API.  Is there any other calls that I could try to improve performance?

Thanks
 
#4 Posted : Sunday, July 8, 2007 4:03:55 AM(UTC)

Qasem Lubani  
Guest

Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)

I'm afraid that the
interpolation algorithm that improves quality takes time, whether you use LEADTOOLS, or any other loading functions.
 
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2007 11:28:47 AM(UTC)
derevell

Groups: Registered
Posts: 23


How would you get the same from a memorystream? I have a byte[] coming out of a DB and the sizecommand makes the images very pixelatted. Setting the codecs.Options.Load.FixedPalette seemed to work. It appears that if you just load a memorystream it doesn't load by default correctly.

RasterImage rasterImage = null;
using (MemoryStream memStreamOrig = new MemoryStream(img))
{
codecs.Options.Load.Format = RasterImageFormat.Png;
codecs.Options.Load.FixedPalette = true;
rasterImage = codecs.Load(memStreamOrig);
}

if (Request["Width"] != null && Request["Height"] != null)
{
Leadtools.ImageProcessing.SizeCommand sz = new Leadtools.ImageProcessing.SizeCommand();
sz.Height = Convert.ToInt32(Request["Height"].ToString());
sz.Width = Convert.ToInt32(Request["Width"].ToString());
sz.Flags = RasterSizeFlags.Bicubic;
sz.Run(rasterImage);
}
 
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2007 11:26:18 PM(UTC)

Qasem Lubani  
Guest

Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)

The problem you're
facing might be similar to the posts above, but it also could be something
else. Please describe it in more detail and explain how to reproduce it here
without your database system. If the problem is not solved, try to create a
small test application that loads the data from a disk file dump and send it to us along with a sample dump file in a ZIP or RAR file.
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.128 seconds.