Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Friday, March 23, 2007 2:29:48 AM(UTC)
tomcat2001

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6


I do not know where the memory is going or if the memory is just associated with the RasterImage, but each time I load an image, we're seeing a jump of about 30MB in memory use.  I am loading a PNG file that is less than 1MB.  This seems a bit excessive.  Is there something I'm missing here, but if we load 5-6 of these we're seeing a jump in memory of nearly 200MB.
 

Try the latest version of LEADTOOLS for free for 60 days by downloading the evaluation: https://www.leadtools.com/downloads

Wanna join the discussion? Login to your LEADTOOLS Support accountor Register a new forum account.

#2 Posted : Friday, March 23, 2007 4:23:54 AM(UTC)

serbach  
serbach

Groups: Registered
Posts: 11


Well, the file size of a PNG or JPG is going to be much smaller than the file size in RAM...and RAM is what counts. I have similar issues with the images I'm working with: 100-300 MB on disk, 5-7 GB in RAM. I use the RasterCodecs.Load() method to load just a portion of the image into RAM so that I can work on it.

You're simply seeing how the image expands in RAM from its compressed state on disk.

Steve Erbach
Neenah, WI
http://TheTownCrank.blogspot.com
 
#3 Posted : Friday, March 23, 2007 4:44:51 AM(UTC)
teomorell

Groups: Registered
Posts: 4


If I am not wrong: Memory size = W x H x bits.
As an example a JPG file 2000x3000x24 might be around 2MB (on disk) depending on the compression ratio.
It will use around 17 MB of memory: 2000 x 3000 x 24 / 8 /1024 /1024

What I wonder is if it is possible to use the video card memory instead of the system memory.

Thanks,

Teo

 
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2007 5:49:03 AM(UTC)

Adnan Ismail  
Guest

Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,034

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)


Teo,


LEADTOOLS does not have the ability to store images in
the video card memory. I would expect standard motherboard RAM to be cheaper than a large-memory video card anyway.
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.224 seconds.