Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 16, 2006 8:16:35 AM(UTC)
ijourneaux

Groups: Registered

I am an absolute beginner using the LeadTools multimedia toolkit. Please bear with me.

I am capturing a video stream of the surface of a piece of paper in a VB program. The bit map is currently configured as 24bit. The video source is gray scale.

The paper has larger and smaller scale undulations that are clearly visible in the image. What I would like to do is remove the larger scale undulations.  A technique I have used in the past is to band pass filter the image using an FFT.

What I would like to do is retrieve the pixel intensityfor each line in the image, do the FFT filtering, and reconstruct the image using the filtered data.

When I try and retrieve the pixel data with .Pixel, I assume I am getting the RGB data. How do I convert that to gray scale intensity? THen how do I create an image using the filtered gray scale data.

Try the latest version of LEADTOOLS for free for 60 days by downloading the evaluation: https://www.leadtools.com/downloads

Wanna join the discussion? Login to your LEADTOOLS Support accountor Register a new forum account.

#2 Posted : Sunday, March 19, 2006 4:35:50 AM(UTC)

Amin  
Amin

Groups: Manager, Tech Support

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)

The easiest way to obtain the grayscale values is to convert the whole
image to grayscale using the Grayscale method. If you do that, the 3
values for Red, Green and Blue will be equal, and you can take any of them to know the value. One way to do that is this:
GrayValue = LEAD1.Pixel(x, y) And &HFF

About putting the value back into the image, you can assign to the Pixel property the RGB value you want.
For example, to invert the value of a pixel, you could use the following code:
g = &HFF And LEAD1.Pixel(x, y)