Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 15, 2006 6:29:13 AM(UTC)
p.durrant

Groups: Registered
Posts: 13


i have taken the source image passed it through the 8 bit gray scale filter , passed it though intensity detect with  180/255 then saved as a 1 bit tif, thus ending hopefully with a usable image for ocr,

but when i ocr it i get many different results but never something which is fully useable

 

Tks One is St, UP 093m lest 3 days
Huge PR Camp~aign Rmutiog for Wednesday Jan 25th We e.Tect 6.T 1Yew$ gown on Wednesday
Mg News Expected Tke Week
Inlws Ventures Inc ( IFN%)
Cwent Pw_ 2.07 UP FROM LIO IF last 3Oays
Hot News Out
LAS OBOAS, J- 13 IPRNew s*e-F rstCam lnlwxventmeo In<QFNR O9News;'YM Company- lls Board ofDirstlors are pleased to emnww that IN'mes has inwamtl lls option in the Yew Cl- to u 60%interest from
the 55% interesbeiaoallyegsmd upon in tho]oint Omtma mW Option Agoament dated June 1 UP, 2004
Thos one is on the Runl Will you wait to long?

p.durrant attached the following image(s):
test.gif
 

Try the latest version of LEADTOOLS for free for 60 days by downloading the evaluation: https://www.leadtools.com/downloads

Wanna join the discussion? Login to your LEADTOOLS Support accountor Register a new forum account.

#2 Posted : Thursday, March 16, 2006 4:09:27 AM(UTC)
Maen Hasan

Groups: Registered, Tech Support
Posts: 1,326

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)

Hello,

I checked this issue on LEADTOOLS v14.5 as follows:
(1) I tried to fix the image as follows:
- Increased its XRes and YRes to 300x300.
- Grayscale 8 bit.
- Intensity detect 180/255.
- Saved the result to a 1bit TIFF CCITTG4 image.

(2) I tried to OCR the result image using the LEADTOOLS Main API OCR demo, and the results were excellent.

I am attaching the result TIFF image with the OCR result DOC file.

Please recheck the same issue using the attached image and let me know how it goes.

Thanks,
Maen Badwan
LEADTOOLS Technical Support
File Attachment(s):
Test.zip (8kb) downloaded 30 time(s).
 
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 16, 2006 4:23:28 AM(UTC)
p.durrant

Groups: Registered
Posts: 13


how did you increase the DPI ?
 
#4 Posted : Sunday, March 19, 2006 2:29:18 AM(UTC)
Maen Hasan

Groups: Registered, Tech Support
Posts: 1,326

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)

Hello,

You can change the image DPI using the LEADTOOLS Main API Demo as follows:
- Load the image.
- Select "Image">"Resize..."
- Within the Resize dialog, set the Horizontal resolution to 300 and the Vertical to 300. Then press OK button.
- Save the file to TIFF 1bit CCITT G4 file format.

Also, to change the bitmap DPI (XRes and YRes) programmatically, you can do the following:
- In LEADTOOLS OCX programming interface you can use the following properties:
BitmapXRes property (Main Control)
BitmapYRes property (Main Control)

- In LEADTOOLS COM programming interface you can use the following properties:
BitmapXRes property (ILEADRaster)
BitmapYRes property (ILEADRaster)

Please try the above instructions and let me know how it goes.

Thanks,
Maen Badwan
LEADTOOLS Technical Support
 
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 21, 2006 7:17:12 AM(UTC)
p.durrant

Groups: Registered
Posts: 13


i'm using the dotnet version do theses  have a different name in dotnet

 

 

 

 
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 23, 2006 12:26:32 AM(UTC)
p.durrant

Groups: Registered
Posts: 13


i have tried

ActiveViewerForm.Viewer.Image.XResolution = 300

ActiveViewerForm.Viewer.Image.YResolution = 300

but this trashes the image and it won't ocr afterwards

 

 
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 23, 2006 2:22:17 AM(UTC)
Maen Hasan

Groups: Registered, Tech Support
Posts: 1,326

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)

Hello,

Please try to produce the same image in LEADTOOLS .Net programming interface by using the following code snippet, and then try to OCR the result TIFF file:
+------------------------------------+
CodecsCommand.Options.Load.XResolution = 350;
CodecsCommand.Options.Load.YResolution = 350;
LeadImage = CodecsCommand.Load(@"c:\Test.gif",0,CodecsLoadByteOrder.BgrOrGray,1,1);
// Dispose Class info.TotalPages//TxtImageName.Text.ToString()

//Convert the image to GrayScale 8bit image
GrayScaleCommand command = new GrayScaleCommand();
command.BitsPerPixel = 8;
command.Run(LeadImage);
//Run the Intensity Detect command
IntensityDetectCommand command1 = new Leadtools.ImageProcessing.Color.IntensityDetectCommand();
command1.LowThreshold = 180;
command1.HighThreshold = 255;
command1.Channel  = Leadtools.ImageProcessing.Color.IntensityDetectCommandFlags.Master;
command1.Run(LeadImage);
System.Drawing.Size[] resolutions = new Size[1];
resolutions[0].Width = 350;
resolutions[0].Height = 350;
CodecsCommand.Options.Save.Resolutions = resolutions;
//Meta file's tags will be saved.
CodecsCommand.Options.Save.Tags = true;
ResizeCommand command2 = new ResizeCommand();
command2.Flags = RasterSizeFlags.Normal;
command2.DestinationImage = new RasterImage (RasterMemoryFlags.Managed , LeadImage.Width *2, LeadImage.Height * 2, LeadImage.BitsPerPixel, LeadImage.Order , LeadImage.ViewPerspective, LeadImage.Palette , null );
command2.Run(LeadImage);
LeadImage= command2.DestinationImage;
CodecsCommand.Save(LeadImage, @"c:\testroot.tif", RasterImageFormat.CcittGroup4, 1);
+------------------------------------+

Please try the above code and let me know how it goes.

Thanks,
Maen Badwan
LEADTOOLS Technical Support
 
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 23, 2006 4:28:09 AM(UTC)
p.durrant

Groups: Registered
Posts: 13


done, many thanks

99.2% accurate on the test images so far

 

Cheers 

 

 
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 6, 2007 10:38:32 AM(UTC)
derevell

Groups: Registered
Posts: 23


I tried the above code to increase my v15 ocr accuracy and I get an error of 'Non-supported image size' Looks like the resize doesn't work anymore w/ OCR at least at this resolution.
 
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 7, 2007 9:43:31 AM(UTC)
derevell

Groups: Registered
Posts: 23


Hello,

When I try this code w/ v15 .NET 2.0 I get the following error when I OCR recognize.

[Leadtools.Document.RasterDocumentException] = {"There is no zone in the zone list"}

Please see code attached.
File Attachment(s):
OCRerrorOnResize.txt (3kb) downloaded 30 time(s).
 
#11 Posted : Sunday, March 11, 2007 6:29:53 AM(UTC)

Adnan Ismail  
Guest

Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)

This error indicates that your application did
not find any ZONE in the OCRed image. The source code you sent does not show the problem, If possible, please send me a working small  test project (not your full application) that
shows this exception. You can also, send this test project to our support email at support@leadtools.com
 
#12 Posted : Monday, March 12, 2007 7:36:10 AM(UTC)
derevell

Groups: Registered
Posts: 23


I sort of figured it out. If the image size resolution is too big I get the error. I was taking the original X and Y and multipling it by 2. Is there a max X and Y resolution size.
 
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2007 5:10:42 AM(UTC)

Adnan Ismail  
Guest

Groups: Guests
Posts: 3,022

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)


You can find this information in the "An Overview of
Recognition Modules" topic in our OCR help files, where it states that
only images up to 6600 pixels in either direction can be handled by the OCR engine.

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.162 seconds.