Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Friday, February 5, 2021 4:13:04 PM(UTC)

mesa  
mesa

Groups: Registered
Posts: 17


With their new scanners Canon has created a fully native TWAIN driver. Currently the driver only supports three scanners, DR G-2090, DR G-2110, and DR G-2140 We are working with the DR-G2140. Our application is using the very old V13 SDK.

We are failing with TWAIN errors of -564 (ICAP_BRIGHTNESS) and -566 (CCAP_CEI_DETECTPAGESIZE) when trying to set capabilities.

We've sent Canon scanners logs and are waiting for the evaluation.

My question or memory test, is there anything in the way the V13 SDK handled TWAIN that would not work with a fully native TWAIN driver?
 

Try the latest version of LEADTOOLS for free for 60 days by downloading the evaluation: https://www.leadtools.com/downloads

Wanna join the discussion? Login to your LEADTOOLS Support accountor Register a new forum account.

#2 Posted : Monday, February 8, 2021 9:43:42 AM(UTC)
Marcus Andra

Groups: Registered, Manager, Tech Support, Administrators
Posts: 68

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)

Hi,

Thanks for supporting LEADTOOLS. I would like to mention that the v13 SDK is a legacy version of the most recent v21 SDK and has been out of maintenance for many years now. There are a few means of testing however that I suggest you proceed with. I recommend that you test your use case with the v21 SDK as we provide a free evaluation which will allow you to access our latest TWAIN demos; by default, you can find this at the following default installation location: C:\LEADTOOLS21\Shortcuts\Scanning (TWAIN & WIA)\.NET Framework Class Libraries\TWAIN.

If you replicate the same issue when attempting to set these capabilities, you should next check the capabilities of the scanner you are using.
https://www.leadtools.com/support/forum/posts/t12799-

Following the above forum post, you should download Twacker in support of the architecture you are currently referencing in your application, and see if you can set these capabilities via this utility. If you still cannot set your capabilities, the problem is that the value you are attempting to assign for these is not supported by your scanner. In this case, I can only recommend that you try using a different scanner, or contact the manufacturer responsible for the scanner.


Thanks,
Marcus Andra
Developer Support Engineer
LEAD Technologies, Inc.
LEAD Logo
 
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2021 1:48:28 PM(UTC)

mesa  
mesa

Groups: Registered
Posts: 17


I've done the troubleshooting. Our code works with a C225 but not the G2110 or G2140 which use the new Canon driver. The G2110 works with Twacker. I would like to test with V13 demo code but cannot find our installation CD. Is there a way to download the V13 evaluation SDK?
 
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2021 2:10:54 PM(UTC)
Marcus Andra

Groups: Registered, Manager, Tech Support, Administrators
Posts: 68

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)

Hello,

LEADTOOLS does not list downloads for previous versions of the LEADTOOLS toolkit.

I can however assist you with getting access to the v13 SDK through email. I have reached out to you through email.

Thank you

Marcus Andra
Developer Support Engineer
LEAD Technologies, Inc.
LEAD Logo
 
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2021 5:04:54 PM(UTC)

mesa  
mesa

Groups: Registered
Posts: 17


Thank you for the eval download. All of the demos are setup to use the manufacturer's interface to complete the scan. Our application bypasses that UI. So, without some extra coding I could not do a comparable test with the demos.

Question, what kind of things would cause a 564 error, "An error in the status of the TWAIN source"?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

 
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2021 9:14:53 AM(UTC)
Marcus Andra

Groups: Registered, Manager, Tech Support, Administrators
Posts: 68

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)

Hello,

Based on your provided exception, I'm unable to provide you additional information on what the cause for this could be. This is a general exception which would require the need to debug your application with the intention to see what line of code is providing you with this exception.

The most common exceptions that arise when using scanners in conjunction with the TWAIN SDK is seen when initially acquiring the source, or when attempting to set a capability not supported with your scanner. This is why we suggest you first test with the LEADTOOLS TWAIN demo, and then check the behavior you are seeing with Twacker. If you are attempting to set a capability and are getting this exception with both Twacker and the TWAIN demo, the capability is not supported through the driver of your scanner so you would need to contact the manufacturer responsible.

At the same time, if you cannot acquire the source then this likely means that your scanner does not support TWAIN for that particular architecture.

Thanks,
Marcus Andra
Developer Support Engineer
LEAD Technologies, Inc.
LEAD Logo
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.132 seconds.