Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Monday, February 18, 2008 4:35:26 AM(UTC)
RScanlon

Groups: Registered

I have been using the LeadTools RasterImage SDK for a couple of years now. All of the images in my system are stored in multipage TIFFs using LZW compression. Recently our clients have started using larger and larger images. For example, one of our clients managed to create a 137 page 8 bit color 300 DPI full page size image document. When compressed to LZW it takes up about 30 MB of disk space. However, it takes up an exponentially larger amount of RAM when loaded as a RasterImage. Here is a quick sample of the code I use to load the image.

Dim ms As System.IO.MemoryStream = Nothing

Dim imgRaster As Leadtools.IRasterImage = Nothing

'I retrieve the bytes from the database and load the memory stream with in the method call below

ms = GetMemStreamFromBytes(bytes)

Dim cod As New Leadtools.Codecs.RasterCodecs

imgRaster = cod.Load(ms, 0, ms.Length)

That's pretty much it. I then use the RasterImage in various ways. When the cod.Load method is called, the memory usage shoots up from about 80Mb to roughly 1.3Gb (quite an increase). Aparently it must be decompressing the image and loading each page as a full bitmap and keeping it in memory. I have read a little bit about using tileing to use disk space instead of memory, but I am not sure how to do this properly. I am looking for a way to either have LeadTools load the page from the given bytes on demand when I say imgRaster.Page = 2, etc. OR to setup the RasterImage to store itself on disk temporarily until I need it. Can you help me decipher the correct LeadTools objects and methods to do this? I am using RasterImage version 14 for dot net.

Thanks,

Ryan

Try the latest version of LEADTOOLS for free for 60 days by downloading the evaluation: https://www.leadtools.com/downloads