Welcome Guest! To enable all features, please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Last Go to last post Unread Go to first unread post
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 16, 2007 5:44:53 PM(UTC)

ping235  
ping235

Groups: Registered
Posts: 3


I'm using WindowLevel function to do w/l for dicom images, but i found that some of the images is not affected by this function, it just keep its original look however i do WindowLevel, this kind of image is very few, but i can not ignore them.
following is my code:

int nLUTLen = 256;//just for this image
RGBQUAD* pLUT = new RGBQUAD[nLUTLen];
//fill my pLUT, it assert valid
int nType = this->IsGrayScale(); //the return is 1
int nRes = WindowLevel(nLowBit, nHighBit, pLUT, nLUTLen, 1); //the return is 1

I'm using Leadtools 14.0 Medical Suite.
i tested this image with bin\DEMO32.exe, but the menu Color\Widow Level is gray.
the attachment is the image with problem.

Can anyone helps?
Thanks.
File Attachment(s):
image.zip (634kb) downloaded 46 time(s).
 

Try the latest version of LEADTOOLS for free for 60 days by downloading the evaluation: https://www.leadtools.com/downloads

Wanna join the discussion? Login to your LEADTOOLS Support accountor Register a new forum account.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 16, 2007 11:53:17 PM(UTC)
Maen Hasan

Groups: Registered, Tech Support
Posts: 1,326

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)

Hello,

I checked your Dicom image. This image is 8-bit grayscale image. The WinodwLevel function only works on 12 and 16 bit grayscale images.

Thanks,
Maen Badwan
LEADTOOLS Technical Support
 
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 17, 2007 4:32:33 PM(UTC)

ping235  
ping235

Groups: Registered
Posts: 3


Thanks,

What does "The WinodwLevel function only works on 12 and 16 bit grayscale images." means exactly?
Does it means i'll can not apply WindowLevel to 8, 11, 13 or 14 bit grayscale images? if yes, how do i WindowLevel these kind of images?

Edited by moderator Tuesday, October 11, 2016 9:02:40 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

 
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2007 10:38:28 AM(UTC)

Travis  
Travis

Groups: Registered, Tech Support
Posts: 207

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)

Due to a Microsoft Window's limitation on only being able to display 256 shades
of gray,WindowLeveling allows you toadjust which 256 shades of gray appear on
the screen at one time. So for 8 bit Grayscale images you do not need to
WindowLevel. For
11, 13 or 14 bit grayscale images, we do support these
bits per pixel, however, most images that are these bits per pixel are12 bit
allocated or 16 bit allocated. For instance you can have an image that is 12
bits allocated but only 10 of those 12 bits are used. This means the image is
10 bits per pixel but becausethere are 12 bits allocated for each pixel, it is
still considered a 12 bpp image. I hope these make this more clear for
you.

Edited by moderator Tuesday, October 11, 2016 9:03:01 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Travis Montgomery
Senior Sales Engineer
LEAD Logo
 
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2007 4:06:47 PM(UTC)

ping235  
ping235

Groups: Registered
Posts: 3


Yes, i know what W/L just doing, i can display all the gray level of the 8 bit Grayscale images at one time, but some times, i would not like to show all the gray level, for instance, i just like to see the bone, assume the bone's gray level is between 200 - 255 for 8 bit unsigned image, then i just need map gray level 200 - 255 to display gray level(0 - 255), thus, i can get most contrast for only the bone region, of course, the gray level beyond 200 - 255 is invisible, but i don't need them this time, and next time, maybe i will like to see the soft tissue, this will need to map another gray level to display gray level.
So, WindowLevel for 8 bit grayscale images is senseful for medical image.

thx.

Edited by moderator Tuesday, October 11, 2016 9:03:25 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

 
#6 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2007 11:09:55 AM(UTC)

Travis  
Travis

Groups: Registered, Tech Support
Posts: 207

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)

Okay I see. We have a function called GetFunctionalLookupTable.
With this you can create your own LUT, specifiing a start and end
color. You would create a LUT, then alter the Bitmap's palette to
match the table.

Edited by moderator Tuesday, October 11, 2016 9:03:47 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Travis Montgomery
Senior Sales Engineer
LEAD Logo
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.149 seconds.